TWAS Postgraduate Fellowships | POGO

TWAS Postgraduate Fellowships

Each year, the TWAS Fellowship Programmes, which operate under agreements with governments and national organizations in developing countries, offer a number of fellowships to young scientists from developing countries to carry out postgraduate research in developing countries other than their own.

Currently, there are ten fellowship programmes for postgraduate research, implemented in collaboration with the following partner organizations:

  1. National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq), Brazil
  2. Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China
  3. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), India
  4. Department of Biotechnology (DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology, India
  5. S.N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, India
  6. Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS), India
  7. Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), Malaysia
  8. National Science and Technology Council (CONACYT), Mexico
  9. National Centre of Excellence in Molecular Biology (CEMB), Pakistan
  10. International Centre for Chemical and Biological Sciences (ICCBS), Pakistan


General information and criteria:

  • International travel (return economy class by the shortest route) and visa expenses will be covered by TWAS.
  • Programme partners will provide a stipend to cover living expenses, including health insurance. Obtaining suitable health insurance is the candidate's own responsibility and will be at his/her own expense.
  • The Fellowships do not include provisions for accompanying family members. Applications for part-time Fellowships will be considered ineligible.
  • Applicants must be affiliated with a university or research centre in their home country.
  • Applicants must provide evidence that they will return to their home country upon completion of their Fellowships.
  • Applicants already on site in the host country are not eligible.
  • Women scientists are especially encouraged to apply.
  • Applicants must submit an official acceptance letter from the host institution (a sample acceptance letter is included in the Application Form below) together with the application, or by the programme deadline at the latest, to both the relevant partner organization (except for DBT, India and ICCBS, Pakistan) and to TWAS. TWAS requests an acceptance letter in all cases (also for DBT and ICCBS).
  • Incomplete/unsigned applications will not be accepted. This also applies to submissions by fax and electronic mail, which must include all enclosures and be signed (either digitally or by including a scanned signature).
  • Successful applicants must not take up other assignments during the period of their Fellowships.
  • Applications will be acknowledged once they have been processed.
  • Successful candidates will be notified by February of the year following the application.
  • TWAS shall be entitled to a repayment of all or part of any funds paid to a Fellowship holder in the event that he or she intentionally or negligently fails to fulfil any or all of the conditions governing the TWAS Fellowship programmes. The Fellowship holder will have to agree to pay any reasonable legal and/or collection costs incurred by TWAS to obtain the repayment.
For more information, please visit the TWAS Fellowship website.
Website hosted & developed by VLIZ
Partnership for Observation of the Global Ocean is a charitable incorporated organisation registered and regulated by the Charity Commission of England and Wales, No 1171692