Board of Trustees | POGO

Board of Trustees

Click here to view a list of the past Chairs of POGO. 



Professor Nicholas J P Owens Director of SAMS (comprising Chief Executive of SAMS, Chief Executive of SAMS Research Service Ltd and Principal of SAMS UHI), UK

Board of Trustees

Karen Wiltshire FaceOn Prof. Dr. Karen Wiltshire Deputy Director of Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research; Director of Biol. Station Helgoland & Wadden Sea Station Sylt, Germany
Dr. Edgar Pavia Director of the Oceanology Division of The Center for Scientific Research and Higher Education at Ensenada (CICESE), Mexico

Prof. Dr. Henk Brinkhuis

Director of NIOZ, Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Peter M. Herzig

Executive Director, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany
Dr. Gilles Lericolais


Directeur des Affaires Européennes et Internationales chez IFREMER, France


Prof. Tiegang LI


Director General of First Institute of Oceanography (FIO), State Oceanic Administration, China


Dr. Wendy Watson-Wright

Chief Executive Officer, Ocean Frontier Institute, canada

Ex-Officio Members

sophie Dr. Sophie Seeyave Chief Executive Officer, POGO



The POGO Board of Trustees (formerly Executive Committee) consists of four types of members:

  • Past, Current and Incoming Chairs.
  • Hosts of Annual POGO Meetings (current and coming year).
  • Elected members.
  • Co-opted members.
Website hosted & developed by VLIZ
Partnership for Observation of the Global Ocean is a charitable incorporated organisation registered and regulated by the Charity Commission of England and Wales, No 1171692